Railroad Commission Announces Eagle Ford Shale Task Force

Railroad Commissioner David Porter announced the members of the Eagle Ford Shale task force and its mission. The group will meet monthly to help promote economic activity and establish best practices across the play. The Eagle Ford Shale will likely become one of the largest economic boosts to the economy that we've seen in history. The task force includes members from a wide variety of backgrounds, including representatives from the oil & gas industry. 

“Commissioner Porter has created a Task Force to establish a forum that will bring the community together and foster a dialogue. The mission of the task force is three-fold:


  • Open the lines of communication between all parties
  • Establish best practices for developing the Eagle Ford Shale
  • Promote economic benefits locally and statewide

'We received an overwhelming amount of feedback from talented and credible applicants, so the selection process was not an easy one,' said Commissioner Porter. 'However, I am confident we have chosen the right group to lead us through the development of the Eagle Ford Shale. We have done our best to ensure each stakeholder group is represented and all voices are heard.' ”

"The Task Force is comprised of local community leaders, local elected officials, water representatives, environmental groups, oil and gas producers, pipeline companies, oil services companies (including a hydraulic fracturing company, a trucking company and a water resources management company), landowners, mineral owners and royalty owners."

Leodoro Martinez – Middle Rio Grande Development Council, Executive Director, Cotulla

Kirk Spilman – Marathon Oil, Asset Manager Eagle Ford, San Antonio

The Honorable Jaime Canales – Webb County Commissioner, Precinct 4, Laredo

Teresa Carrillo – Sierra Club, Executive Committee Member – Lone Star Chapter, Treasurer – Coastal Bend Sierra, Corpus Christi

James E. Craddock – Rosetta Resources, Senior Vice President, Drilling and Production Operations, Houston

Erasmo Yarrito – Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Rio Grande Valley Water Master, Harlingen

Steve Ellis – EOG Resources, Senior Division Counsel, Corpus Christi

The Honorable Daryl Fowler – Dewitt County Judge, Cuero

Brian Frederick – DCP Midstream, Southern Unit Vice President for the East Division, Houston

Anna Galo – Vice President, ANB Cattle Company, Laredo

The Honorable Jim Huff – Live Oak County Judge, George West

Stephen Ingram – Halliburton, Technology Manager, Houston Business Development & Onshore South Texas, Houston

Mike Mahoney – Evergreen Underground Water Conservation District, General Manager, Pleasanton

James Max Moudy – MWH Global, Inc., Senior Client Service Manager, Houston

Trey Scott – Trinity Minerals Management, LTD, Founder, San Antonio

Mary Beth Simmons – Shell Exploration and Production Company, Senior Staff Reservoir Engineer, Houston

Terry Retzloff – TR Measurement Witnessing, LLC, Founder, Campbellton

Greg Brazaitis – Energy Transfer, Vice President, Government Affairs, Houston

Glynis Strause – Coastal Bend College, Dean of Institutional Advancement, Beeville

Susan Spratlen – Pioneer Natural Resources, Senior Director, Corporate Communications & Public Affairs, Dallas

Chris Winland – Good Company Associates; University of Texas at San Antonio, Interim Director, San Antonio Clean Energy Incubator, Austin/San Antonio

Paul Woodard – J&M Premier Services, President, Palestine

Read the full news release at rrc.state.tx.us