Eagle Ford Task Force Members Announced by David Porter - TX RRC

Texas Railroad Commissioner David Porter announced the members selected to serve on his Eagle Ford Task Force. The Eagle Ford Shale is rapidly becoming one of the largest domestic crude oil and natural gas discoveries in more than 40 years. Roughly 50 miles wide and 400 miles long, the Eagle Ford spreads across Texas from the Mexican border covering 24 Texas counties.

“The Eagle Ford Shale has the potential to be the single most significant economic development in our state’s history,” said Commissioner Porter. “We must develop this shale responsibly, finding the proper way to develop these resources while ensuring environmental protection.”

Commissioner Porter has created a Task Force to establish a forum that will bring the community together and foster a dialogue. The mission of the task force is three-fold:

  1. Open the lines of communication between all parties
  2. Establish best practices for developing the Eagle Ford Shale
  3. Promote economic benefits locally and statewide

“We received an overwhelming amount of feedback from talented and credible applicants, so the selection process was not an easy one,” said Commissioner Porter. “However, I am confident we have chosen the right group to lead us through the development of the Eagle Ford Shale. We have done our best to ensure each stakeholder group is represented and all voices are heard.”

The Task Force is comprised of local community leaders, local elected officials, water representatives, environmental groups, oil and gas producers, pipeline companies, oil services companies (including a hydraulic fracturing company, a trucking company and a water resources management company), landowners, mineral owners and royalty owners.

The Task Force met today in San Antonio and set an agenda for work moving forward. Porter plans for the Task Force to meet monthly, with the second meeting occurring in late August in the Eagle Ford region.

The members of the Task Force are:

  • Leodoro Martinez – Middle Rio Grande Development Council, Executive Director, Cotulla
  • Kirk Spilman – Marathon Oil, Asset Manager Eagle Ford, San Antonio
  • The Honorable Jaime Canales – Webb County Commissioner, Precinct 4, Laredo
  • Teresa Carrillo – Sierra Club, Executive Committee Member – Lone Star Chapter, Treasurer – Coastal Bend Sierra, Corpus Christi
  • James E. Craddock – Rosetta Resources, Senior Vice President, Drilling and Production Operations, Houston
  • Erasmo Yarrito – Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Rio Grande Valley Water Master, Harlingen
  • Steve Ellis – EOG Resources, Senior Division Counsel, Corpus Christi
  • The Honorable Daryl Fowler – Dewitt County Judge, Cuero
  • Brian Frederick – DCP Midstream, Southern Unit Vice President for the East Division, Houston
  • Anna Galo – Vice President, ANB Cattle Company, Laredo
  • The Honorable Jim Huff – Live Oak County Judge, George West
  • Stephen Ingram – Halliburton, Technology Manager, Houston Business Development & Onshore South Texas, Houston
  • Mike Mahoney – Evergreen Underground Water Conservation District, General Manager, Pleasanton
  • James Max Moudy – MWH Global, Inc., Senior Client Service Manager, Houston
  • Trey Scott – Trinity Minerals Management, LTD, Founder, San Antonio
  • Mary Beth Simmons – Shell Exploration and Production Company, Senior Staff Reservoir Engineer, Houston
  • Terry Retzloff – TR Measurement Witnessing, LLC, Founder, Campbellton
  • Greg Brazaitis – Energy Transfer, Vice President, Government Affairs, Houston
  • Glynis Strause – Coastal Bend College, Dean of Institutional Advancement, Beeville
  • Susan Spratlen – Pioneer Natural Resources, Senior Director, Corporate Communications & Public Affairs, Dallas
  • Chris Winland – Good Company Associates; University of Texas at San Antonio, Interim Director, San Antonio Clean Energy Incubator, Austin/San Antonio
  • Paul Woodard – J&M Premier Services, President, Palestine

David J. Porter was elected to the Texas Railroad Commission on November 2, 2010. A Certified Public Accountant and successful small business owner, Commissioner Porter has worked with oil and gas producers for nearly three decades providing strategic financial advice and tax counsel. He has a long record of pro-business, free market, conservative credentials. Visit www.rrc.state.tx.us for additional RRC information.